November Is For Writing

NaNo-Horizontal-Logo-Web
“Image courtesy of National Novel Writing Month.”

November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). This is an opportunity to write a novel in one month’s time. I know what you are gonna say. “One month? A whole novel? You gotta be crazy!”
To be honest, I was skeptical about succeeding at such a task, but the truth is, I am actually participating and having fun with it. The point of this month is to just write. Don’t edit, or try and fix things. You just write.
Some people do prep work before November, which is perfectly fine, but you can’t start your actual work until November 1st. There is a general goal of 50,000 words, but before you freak out, keep in mind that you don’t have to finish your novel. The point is to get into the habit of writing everyday.
I understand that life happens and that is okay. The best thing to do is try to schedule some time to write. Even if what you write makes no sense at first, you can go back later and fix it. This is the chance to start a project, whether you want to write as a hobby, or you hope to become published, this month is the best chance you can give yourself to get started.
This is the first time I am participating in NaNoWriMo and I am actually very excited. I have started writing my story and have written a little over 5,000 words already. Will I finish a novel in one month? Who knows, but I am giving myself a good start.
If you have ever wanted to write but didn’t know where to start, I suggest you check out the NaNoWriMo website . You can find all kinds of cool stuff to help you get started, and best of all is that it costs you nothing. Access to the site is free. All you have to do is sign up and get started.
I write because I enjoy telling stories. I have written poetry for a number of years, but didn’t start writing fiction until recently. I hope I can write something good enough to publish, but even if I don’t I will always enjoy writing. It is a great way to express your creativity.
I hope you will take a look at the NaNoWriMo site and start your novel. I wish you all the best in your endeavors. Let’s get writing!

Leave a comment